Sinjin Hawke & Zora Jones – God (August 3rd)


Planet Mu are very happy to be releasing ‘Vicious Circles’, the debut EP by Sinjin Hawke and Zora Jones, who aside from producing music also run the audio-visual production unit ‘Fractal Fantasy’.

Zora released several collaborations on last year’s ‘Visceral Minds 2’ including ‘Dark Matter’ with Planet Mu’s Jlin, while Sinjin has collaborated with DJ Rashad, Just Blaze and MikeQ, and also produced music for monoliths like Kanye West and Frank Ocean.

Remarkably, given the breadth of their work, ‘Vicious Circles’ is their first collaborative EP, and the first time either have released on vinyl.

The EP is a great showcase for the duo’s emotional, maximalist chimeras of abstract pounding beats. From the punchy, circular, grandiose build-ups of opener ‘Vicious Circles’, to the unyielding melancholy of ‘God’ with its sinister Bulgarian choir sample against a peak Timbaland-era rhythm, the record’s potent synths and manipulated vocals are simultaneously fierce and friendly. ‘Source of Conflict’ is a poised dance between pulsing ambient textures and splintered 808s, while ‘Lurk 101’ pits a volley of abstracted juke toms up against a hammering drum-line. ‘BabyboySosa’ feels like drum-less drill, manipulating vocals into strange alien shapes before spiralling snares start to form a forceful march. The EP concludes on the love anthem ‘And You Were One’ with a pitched up vocal running through its chorus of bent sub tones and chimes. by Planet Mu Records

Kompakt Podcast #7 – TERRANOVA

Our Kompakt podcast continues with @editionterranova aka Fetisch.

TERRANOVA kicked off 2018 with a bang with ‘Cosmo EP’ (KOM378). 4 top-notch tracks showcasing the strongest outings yet in his impressive back catalogue:

This podcast goes beyond the ‘Cosmo EP’ energy with some super exclusive tracks that will be out soon 😉
FluxFM in Berlin will air this podcast exclusively in honor of our Kompakt Open Air on June 10, 2018: by Kompakt


Taken from the new album ‘One Hundred Billions Sparks’, released 20 Sept – pre-order with tour tickets at

After spending a month in complete isolation at a remote cottage in Wales, Max Cooper presents ‘One Hundred Billion Sparks’, his third studio album, in which he interrogates notions of identity whilst profiling the complex mechanisms that make us all wonderfully unique.

The first single of the album, ‘Hope’, sees Max retain the duality for which his work is known for, dissonant harmonies ring across vast, cinematic soundscapes driven forward by static bass and skeletal percussion. The track was designed around a video collaboration with Thomas Vanz, charting the epic journey of atoms inside the brain, as it creates our experience with its one hundred billion sparking neurons.

One Hundred Billion Sparks tour:
13 Sep – Amsterdam, Melkweg
15 Sept – Budapest, We Are Cre8tion
20 Sep – London, Koko
22 Sep – Nantes, Scopitone Festival
25 Sep – Santander, Centro Botin
04-06 Oct – Brighton, ACCA [Aether]
06 Oct – Rome, Spring Attitude Festival, Ex Dogana
12 Oct – Yverdon-les-Bains, L’Amalgame
18 Oct – Paris, Gaîté Lyrique
03-07 Nov – Hasselt, IMPACT [Aether]
08 Nov – Brussels, AB
10 Nov – Berlin, Funkhaus
16 Nov – Dublin, Button Factory
24 Nov – Cologne, Artheater

For tickets, pre-orders and more info go to by Max Cooper

Music of the Tides [Balance 030]

I had a soft ebb and flow vibe in mind for this track, where I wanted to make lots of different tidal forces interact, with a flowing binaural dust simulation, lots of analogue delays, and then larger scale opening of each synth into moments of fullness, then back to the quieter sections.

I used Rob Clouth’s “Dust” plugin for the simulated binaural flows. His plugin creates the headphone experience of many particles of sound moving around the head, it’s a pretty mad plugin, well recommended to check out if you haven’t done so.

We ended up setting the music to a suitably flowing visual scene too, in Ben Outram’s footage of microscopic liquid crystals in action, warping and bending light in beautiful complex ways. You can find that video online here:

The track is release as part of my Balance 030 compilation, featuring loads more exclusive tracks and many bootlegs and edits of my favourite music across many genres, all blended into a big garden of ideas for exploring, if you’re into that sort of thing!

Big thanks to the great artist Ozge Cone for her Balance 030 artwork cover you can see embedded here. by Max Cooper